You're using Gmail wrong – clever hack is a must-know for anyone sending emails

IF YOU'RE using Gmail, there's an important hack that you need to know.

Anyone who sends emails on a regular basis will have regretted the odd missive.

Thankfully, Gmail has had a feature that lets you unsend emails for years.

It could save you in a tricky situation.

The feature works by delaying your message actually sending out.

Adding just a few seconds on to the time it takes for an email to be pushed isn't hugely problematic for most users.

But it could avoid some serious embarrassment by having the feature active – so the trade-off is a no-brainer.

How to unsend a Gmail message

To use this clever Google feature, you need to manually enable it in settings.

Most read in News Tech

APP TERROR

Google warns EVERY Chrome user over 'critical' danger you need to check now

REAL DEAL

Incredible iPhone 12 deal bags you 100GB of data for just £34 a month

PAEDO CRACKDOWN

Apple to scan iPhone messages for NUDITY in crackdown on child sex abuse

PASS PORT

How to get Covid pass into Apple Wallet for new Omicron restrictions

First, log in to your Gmail account.

Then go into Settings – this is via the cogwheel in the top-right corner of your screen.

Choose Settings inside that menu, and you'll see loads of detailed options for your account.

Now you want to tick the box next to Enable Undo Send.

Once that's done, you can adjust how long the grace period is for you to unsend a message.

You can select anything from five to 30 seconds.

Now scroll to the bottom and save your new settings.

When you send an email in future, you'll see a small pop-up box appear.

This will give you the option to unsend your message – if you're still within the grace period.

Click it and the message won't actually be "unsent" – instead, it's actually never sent in the first place.

But if you're mulling over your decision, be quick: once the pop-up disappears, you can no longer unsend the message.

Gmail does have an email recall option, but it relies on the other person agreeing – which makes it largely pointless for avoiding embarrassment.

And avoiding embarrassment on Gmail is important, as the TikTok video from @jzez21 below points out…

  • Read all the latest Phones & Gadgets news
  • Keep up-to-date on Apple stories
  • Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

  • How to get your deleted Instagram photos back
  • How to track someone on Google Maps
  • How can I increase my Snapchat score?
  • How can I change my Facebook password?
  • How can I do a duet on TikTok?
  • Here's how to see if your Gmail has been hacked
  • How can I change my Amazon Alexa voice in seconds?
  • What is dating app Bumble?
  • How can I test my broadband internet speed?
  • Here's how to find your Sky TV remote in SECONDS

In other news, Google Chrome users have been urged to delete their browser.

Facebook recently rebranded to Meta.

Check out the best iPhone 13 deals in October 2021.

And take a look at your hidden Facebook rejection folder.

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at [email protected]

    Source: Read Full Article