Fury over new Snapchat 'ghost trails' feature that 'exposes your location' | The Sun

SNAPCHAT has launched a new location tracking feature – and users are not happy about it.

Last week, Snap Inc. launched a new subscription plan for Snapchat that lets users access exclusive features.

Dubbed Snapchat Plus, the subscription is priced at $3.99 a month and is geared toward "the most passionate members of [the Snap] community."

Users who opt for the paid service will not only get to use exclusive tools but will also have access to universal features earlier than the rest of the Snapchat community.

Some of the exclusive tools include the ability to see who rewatched your story, pin close friends to the top of your chat, and customize the app icon.

However, the feature making the most waves is Ghost Trails, with many calling it "dangerous".

Read More On Snapchat

All you need to know about Snapchat’s delete after 24 hours setting

What is 'Ghost Trails'?

Ghost Trails is an exclusive feature available only to Snapchat’s new paid subscription users.

It lets people see where their friends have been in the past 24 hours.

Basically, if someone has their location visible, others can track their movements from one location to another via Snapchat Map.

Most read in Tech

FACE-OFF

Facebook Messenger and Instagram 'DOWN' – thousands of users say app not working

FACE OFF

Millions could be BANNED from Facebook for breaking three simple rules

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Can you solve this puzzle in 20 seconds? You could be record holder

I-CREEP

Your iPhone has a HIDDEN list that will really creep you out – how to find out

What's more, the tool also displays a yellow trail that details which route a person took to get from point A to B.

Snapchat users are not happy

Many Snapchat users have taken to social media to share their thoughts on the new features – and they're not pleased.

"Snapchat unveiled a subscription plan and their Ghost Trails feature is a little…disturbing," one Twitter user wrote.

A second person said: "Snapchat ghost trails. WHY?? I can see no healthy reason for wanting to know exactly where someone has been in the last day."

"It's just making it easier for abusers to stalk and control their victim's movements, making it harder to get help," they added, before asking Snapchat to remove this feature "immediately".

"The new 'ghost trails' is so dangerous and stupid lol so many women are going to get hurt or killed [because] of this," a third Twitter user remarked.

How to turn off your location

If you want to make sure that no one can track your movements on Snapchat, you can enable 'Ghost Mode'.

This means that your Bitmoji will no longer be visible on the Snapchat Map and no one can see your location.

To do this, go to Snapchat Map and press the icon in the top right-hand corner to bring up the settings.

Read More On The Sun

I’m a mom of twins who are only half-sisters – even doctors are blown away

Once there, toggle on 'Ghost Mode'.

You also have the option to share your location and Ghost Trail with only certain friends by tapping the 'My Friends Except' or 'Only These Friends' options.

    Source: Read Full Article